← All Articles
AI

AI Events and Announcements to Watch, November 2026 Through March 2027

Conferences you can attend, deadlines that will break code or change your bill, and launches that may or may not arrive. A dated calendar, with what is confirmed and what is only reported.

An abstract illustration of a calendar strip with a few dates circled, a conference badge, and a small clock counting down

Illustration: FrontierTech.news

Some AI dates come with a stage and a keynote. Others arrive as a line in a deprecations table and break something quietly. This page collects both kinds for the next five months, from now through March 2027, and says plainly which ones are confirmed by the organizer and which are only reported.

It was compiled on Oct. 29, 2026 from official event pages, vendor documentation and news reports, and dates can move. Check the linked source before you book travel or plan a migration.

The Calendar at a Glance

DateWhatWhereStatus
Nov. 3U.S. midterm electionsUnited StatesConfirmed (scheduled election)
Week of Nov. 9Anthropic could begin marketing its IPOReportedReported, not announced
Nov. 9 to 12Web SummitLisbon, PortugalConfirmed by organizer listing
Nov. 12Anthropic's 2026 Usage Policy takes effectOnlineConfirmed by Anthropic, per a roundup
Nov. 17 to 20Microsoft IgniteSan Francisco and onlineConfirmed by Microsoft
About Nov. 20 to 30San Francisco's data center moratorium ends unless extendedSan FranciscoCalculated, not published
Nov. 30Claude Sonnet 4.5 retires from the Claude APIOnlineConfirmed by Anthropic
Nov. 30OpenAI shuts down Agent Builder, the Evals dashboard and API, and the v1/prompts APIOnlineConfirmed by OpenAI
Nov. 30 to Dec. 4AWS re:InventLas VegasConfirmed by event listing
Dec. 1Gemini 4 Argon API price doublesOnlineConfirmed by Google
Dec. 2New EU AI Act prohibitions and a transition deadlineEuropean UnionConfirmed by the European Commission
Dec. 6 to 13NeurIPS, in three cities at onceSydney, Atlanta, ParisConfirmed by NeurIPS
Dec. 11OpenAI shuts down GPT-5 and o3 model snapshotsOnlineConfirmed by OpenAI
Jan. 1Gemini 3.8 Flash promotional price endsOnlineConfirmed by Google
Jan. 6 to 9CES 2027Las VegasConfirmed by CES
Jan. 14 and 20More OpenAI model and audio shutdownsOnlineConfirmed by OpenAI
March 14 to 18Nvidia GTC 2027San Jose and onlineConfirmed by Nvidia, with a conflicting banner date

Conferences You Can Attend

Web Summit, Nov. 9 to 12, Lisbon. A general technology conference where AI is one of several tracks. It runs Monday through Thursday at the MEO Arena and the FIL venue, according to an event listing from the European Commission's HADEA agency.

Microsoft Ignite, Nov. 17 to 20, San Francisco. Microsoft's own site confirms the dates and city. A roundup of AI dates says the keynote is Nov. 17 at the Chase Center, but Microsoft's page does not give the keynote date or venue, so confirm that before you plan around it. Ignite is where Microsoft tends to announce its enterprise AI and agent products.

AWS re:Invent, Nov. 30 to Dec. 4, Las Vegas. In person at the Las Vegas Convention Center, according to an event listing. Amazon's cloud, chip and AI model announcements usually land here.

NeurIPS, Dec. 6 to 13, Sydney, Atlanta and Paris. This year's machine-learning research conference runs in three cities at the same time. On NeurIPS's dates page, Sydney's main conference is Dec. 8 to 10 with workshops Dec. 11 and 12, Atlanta's main conference is Dec. 10 and 11 (tutorials Dec. 9, workshops Dec. 12 and 13), and Paris's is Dec. 9 to 11 with workshops Dec. 12 and 13. Other roundups list slightly different days, so use NeurIPS's own page. The organizers' reason for the split is not stated in the sources we read. If you cannot travel, the paper and poster topics matter more than the venue, since much of the research shows up online first.

CES 2027, Jan. 6 to 9, Las Vegas. CES's site lists the dates and one announced keynote, from Lenovo at the Sphere. It does not list an AI-focused keynote, so treat CES as the place to see consumer AI hardware, not a source of model news.

Nvidia GTC 2027, March 14 to 18, San Jose. Nvidia's FAQ says March 14 to 18, while a banner on the same page says March 15 to 18, so check the registration page. The event also offers virtual attendance.

Dates That Change Your Code, Your Bill or Your Rules

These are the entries most likely to cost someone money or uptime.

  • Anthropic. Claude Sonnet 4.5 retires from the API on Nov. 30, with `claude-sonnet-5-5` as the recommended replacement, according to Anthropic's deprecations page. Claude Opus 4.5 has an earliest retirement date of Nov. 24 but no firm date. Anthropic says it gives at least 60 days' notice before retiring public models.
  • OpenAI. Per OpenAI's deprecations page, Agent Builder, the Evals dashboard and API, and the v1/prompts API shut down Nov. 30. Image models including `gpt-image-1.5` follow on Dec. 1. On Dec. 11, GPT-5, GPT-5 mini and nano, GPT-5 pro, o3 and o3-pro snapshots shut down. In January, text-to-speech models go on Jan. 6, GPT-4o and GPT-4.1 on Jan. 14, and several realtime and audio models on Jan. 20. OpenAI lists replacements for each.
  • Google. Gemini 4 Argon's introductory $2 / $10 price ends Nov. 30, and it is $4 / $20 from Dec. 1, per Google's pricing page. Gemini 3.8 Flash's promotional $0.75 / $3.75 ends Dec. 31 and becomes $1.50 / $7.50 on Jan. 1. See our model comparison for how that shifts the math.
  • European Union. On Dec. 2, new AI Act prohibitions take effect for AI systems that generate non-consensual intimate imagery or child sexual abuse material. Generative AI systems already on the market before Aug. 2, 2026 get a transition deadline for the Article 50(2) machine-readable marking rule, according to the Commission's AI Act timeline, which flags that date as amended by the Digital Omnibus. The high-risk rules for Annex III systems are listed for Dec. 2, 2027.
  • Deadlines in the middle. Most of the software dates above give one to four weeks of runway. If you depend on a pinned model name, check each vendor's page this week.

Enjoying this?

Get one weekly email summarizing the developments that actually matter across AI, energy, biotech, space, blockchain, and climate technology.

Newsletter Coming Soon

Announcements That May Land

Anthropic IPO. A report by IPOScoop says Anthropic filed its S-1 on Oct. 26, 2026 with a proposed ticker of ANT, and that the filing did not give offering terms. Bloomberg reported earlier that marketing could begin the week of Nov. 9, with trading before Thanksgiving on Nov. 26 and a listing by year-end. The size and valuation figures in the coverage, including a roughly $75 billion raise and a market capitalization of $1.5 trillion to $2 trillion, are expectations from investors and reporters, not announced terms. IPOScoop also reports that, per the filing, Anthropic had a net loss of about $109.7 billion on $19.7 billion of revenue for the 12 months to June 30, 2026. We have not read the filing ourselves. Watch for the public prospectus, the price range and the exchange.

Election-season AI. The U.S. midterms are on Nov. 3. Researchers quoted in a recent AI news digest warn that AI-generated falsehoods are spreading ahead of the vote, with reduced trust-and-safety staffing at platforms. Expect platform policy announcements and fact-checking stories in the days around it.

San Francisco's data center pause. A roundup estimates that the city's 45-day moratorium on new data centers ends around Nov. 20 to 30 unless the Board of Supervisors extends it. The city has not published an end date, and reports differ on when the clock started, so treat this one as an estimate.

Model launches with no date. None of these has an announced date:

  • OpenAI's next flagship, referred to in coverage as GPT-7. The Information reported on Oct. 13 that OpenAI is fixing safety issues first.
  • A new Anthropic model. Reuters reported on Sept. 18 that Anthropic is considering one in response to GPT-6 Astra. A listing named "Fable 5.5" briefly appeared in Azure's catalog, according to TestingCatalog, and Anthropic has not confirmed it.
  • OpenAI's Private Inference preview, which OpenAI described at DevDay as coming "this fall."

How to Use This List

This section is analysis, not reporting.

  • If you build on APIs, the shutdown dates are the real events. Put Nov. 30, Dec. 1 and Dec. 11 on your team calendar and test the replacement models now, not on the deadline.
  • If you buy AI services, Argon's Dec. 1 price change and the end of promotional prices mean any budget built on October rates will be low. Ask vendors what the rate is after the intro period.
  • If you follow the industry, conference keynotes tend to hold the product news (Ignite, re:Invent, GTC) and NeurIPS holds the research. CES is mostly gadgets.
  • If you invest or work near the IPO, read the public prospectus when it appears and treat headline valuations as unconfirmed until then.
  • Treat undated launches as rumors. A flagship that is "coming soon" has missed dates before. The October gap between announced and available models is a reason to keep a second model qualified for anything important.

What We Cannot Conclude

We did not attend or verify any event, and we did not read the Anthropic filing. Event dates and venues come from organizer pages where we could open them and from roundups where we could not, and the two disagree in a few places, which the text notes. Reported items such as the IPO timeline and the San Francisco moratorium could change or turn out wrong. This list is not complete: smaller conferences, regional events and unannounced launches are not here.

Why It Matters

  • Quiet deadlines cost more than keynotes. Model shutdowns and price changes cluster at the end of November and the start of December.
  • Prices are rising on schedule. Introductory rates, including Argon's, end within weeks.
  • The calendar is crowded in December. AWS re:Invent, a three-city NeurIPS, the EU's Dec. 2 deadline and OpenAI's Dec. 11 shutdowns all land within about two weeks.
  • Reported is not announced. The IPO and the next flagship models are the biggest stories on this list and the least certain.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the biggest AI conferences between now and March 2027?

Web Summit in Lisbon (Nov. 9 to 12), Microsoft Ignite in San Francisco (Nov. 17 to 20), AWS re:Invent in Las Vegas (Nov. 30 to Dec. 4), NeurIPS in Sydney, Atlanta and Paris (Dec. 6 to 13), CES in Las Vegas (Jan. 6 to 9) and Nvidia GTC in San Jose (March 14 to 18). Check each organizer's page for final dates.

Which AI deadlines could break my app?

According to vendor documentation, Claude Sonnet 4.5 retires Nov. 30, OpenAI shuts down Agent Builder and the Evals and prompts APIs on Nov. 30, and GPT-5 and o3 snapshots shut down Dec. 11. More OpenAI shutdowns follow in January. Each vendor lists a replacement model.

When does Gemini 4 Argon get more expensive?

On Dec. 1, 2026, the API price rises from $2 input and $10 output per million tokens to $4 and $20, according to Google's pricing page. The introductory price ends Nov. 30.

Is the Anthropic IPO confirmed?

IPOScoop reports that Anthropic filed an S-1 on Oct. 26, but the report says the filing did not disclose offering terms. Bloomberg's reported timeline of marketing the week of Nov. 9 and trading before Thanksgiving is based on people familiar with the plans. Valuation and raise figures are expectations, not announced terms.

Are GPT-7 or a new Claude model coming soon?

Neither has a date. The Information reported that OpenAI is fixing safety issues before its next flagship, and Reuters reported that Anthropic is considering a new model. Treat both as unconfirmed.

What's next, explained.

One email a week. AI, blockchain, energy, biotech, space, and climate tech — the developments that actually matter, minus the noise.